CAST10 Archives

February 2012


Options: Use Proportional Font
Show HTML Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
John Bagterp Jørgensen <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
John Bagterp Jørgensen <[log in to unmask]>
Thu, 9 Feb 2012 09:20:16 +0100
text/plain (22 lines)
Lorenz T. Biegler receives the Nordic Process Control Award

The Nordic Process Control Award is awarded for lasting and significant contributions to the field of process control. The twelfth recipient of this award is Professor Lorenz T. Biegler. Lorenz T. Biegler is given the award for development of optimization algorithms for process control. In particular, Prof. Lorenz T. Biegler has made significant and lasting contributions to Nonlinear Model Predictive Control by development of the simultaneous method for optimization of dynamical systems and the software package IPOPT. The award was presented to Professor Biegler on January 26, 2012 during the 17th Nordic Process Control Workshop held at the Technical University of Denmark. The title of his inspiring award lecture was "A Nonlinear Programming Path to NMPC and Real-Time Optimization".

You can find proceedings and pictures from the 17th Nordic Process Control Workshop at 

Previous winners of the Nordic Process Control Award:
1995: Howard H. Rosenbrock  
1997: Karl Johan Åstrøm  
1998: F. Greg Shinskey  
2000: Jens G. Balchen  
2001: Charles R. Cutler  
2003: Roger W. Sargent 
2004: Ernst Dieter Gilles  
2006: Manfred Morari  
2007: Jacques Richalet  
2009: John MacGregor 
2010: Graham C. Goodwin