CAST10 Archives

October 2009


Options: Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
John Congalidis <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
John Congalidis <[log in to unmask]>
Fri, 30 Oct 2009 09:43:36 -0400
text/plain (41 lines)
We are very pleased to announce that Professor Panagiotis Christofides has 
been selected as the CAST10B Programming Chair for 2012. We had several
outstanding nominations of very qualified candidates for which we are very
thankful. The high qualifications of the candidates made the selection
process difficult.

Please join us in congratulating Panagiotis for this important

Masoud Soroush: 2009 10B Program Chair
John Congalidis: 2010 10B Program Chair
Prodromos Daoutidis: 2011 10B Program Chair

Short Biography

Panagiotis Christofides received the Diploma in Chemical Engineering degree
in 1992, from the University of Patras, Greece, the M.S. degrees in
Electrical Engineering and Mathematics in 1995 and 1996, respectively, and
the Ph.D. degree in Chemical Engineering in 1996, all from the University
of Minnesota. Since July 1996 he has been with the University of
California, Los Angeles, where he is currently a Professor in the
Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering and the Department of
Electrical Engineering. His theoretical research interests include
nonlinear and predictive control, and analysis and control of distributed
parameter systems, multiscale systems and hybrid systems, with applications
to chemical processes, advanced materials processing, particulate
processes, and water systems. His research work has resulted in a large
number of articles in leading scientific journals and conference
proceedings and four books. He has received several awards for his
teaching and research work including the Teaching Award from the AIChE
Student Chapter of UCLA in 1997, a Research Initiation Grant from the ACS-
Petroleum Research Fund in 1998, a CAREER award from the National Science
Foundation in 1998, the Ted Peterson Student Paper Award and the
Outstanding Young Researcher Award from the Computing and Systems
Technology Division of AIChE in 1999 and 2008, respectively, and a Young
Investigator Award from the Office of Naval Research in 2001. He has also
received twice the O. Hugo Schuck Best Paper Award in 2000 and 2004, and
the Donald P. Eckman Award in 2004, all from the American Automatic Control
Council. He is an IEEE Fellow.