CAST10 Archives

October 2009


Options: Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
"Mayuresh V. Kothare" <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Fri, 2 Oct 2009 09:47:11 -0400
text/plain (130 lines)
Call of papers
9th IFAC Symposium on Dynamica and Control of Process Systems (DYCOPS-9)
July 5-7, 2010, Leuven, Belgium

Submission deadline for draft papers and special session
proposals: November 16, 2009

Author notification: February 15, 2010

Final paper submission deadline: April 2, 2010

Early registration deadline: April 2, 2010

Final Program: April 30, 2010

Conference dates: July 5-7, 2010

The DYCOPS-9 Symposium will bring together engineers and scientists from 
universities, R & D laboratories and the process industries to focus 
attention on new methodologies and challenging applications in the
various areas of DYnamics and COntrol of Process Systems (DYCOPS). The
DYCOPS 2010 conference will be held on July 5-7, 2010 in Leuven, 
Belgium. Organized under the auspices of the International Federation of 
Automatic Control (IFAC), the DYCOPS Symposium Series is a continuing 
series of international conferences held most recently in Cancun, Mexico 
(2007) and Boston, USA (2004). These meetings focus on advances in 
methods for control and modeling for all types of chemical processes and 
are part of a three-year rotation of IFAC meetings in process control, 
which also include the IFAC ADCHEM series.

The DYCOPS symposium will be followed by the Computer Applications in 
Biotechnology (CAB-11) symposium at the same venue which will be held 
from July 7-9 with one day of overlap between the two symposia.

The main topics for the DYCOPS-9 meeting include, but are not limited, 
to the following:

(1) Population Modelling
(2) Control of Ecological Systems
(3) Systems Biology
(4) Micro and nanotechnology
(5) Sustainable Development and Biofuels
(6) Petrochemical Processes
(7) Separation Processes
(8) Batch Processes
(9) Instrumentation and Soft Sensing
(10) Modeling and Identification of Biochemical Processes
(11) Robust Control of Biochemical Processes
(12) MPC of Biochemical Processes

The scientific program will consist of the following three plenary speakers:

     * John Baras (University of Maryland, USA) "Architectures,
       Modularity and Robustness in Networked Control Systems"
     * Biao Huang (Chemical and Materials Engineering, University of
       Alberta, Canada) "Solid Oxide Fuel Cell: Perspective of Dynamic
       Modeling and Control"
     * Marc Lacroix (Solvay Company, Belgium) "Control theory, practice
       and benefits in the chemical industry : status and perspectives"

DYCOPS-9 will also share a plenary lecture with CAB-11 :

Olivier Bernard (INRIA-Sophia Antipolis) "Hurdles and challenges for 
modelling and control of microalgae for CO2 mitigation and biofuel 

There will be several additional keynotes and semi-plenary sessions, 
regular sessions, poster sessions and discussion forums in the final 
technical program.

Please visit for the most up-to-date information

International Program Committee (IPC):

Mayuresh V. Kothare (US) (Chair)
Moses Tade (AU) (Vice-Chair)

IPC-Vice chair from industry:
Olivier Ludemann (FR)

IPC Program Area co-chairs:

Energy systems engineering : H. Budman (CA)
Biological and biomedical systems : R. Parker (US)
Batch processes : D. Bonvin (CH)
Advances in Model-based Control : S. Patwardhan (IN)
Industrial Applications : F. Gao (HK)
State estimation and process monitoring: Mazen Alamir (FR)

IPC members:

Ray Adomaitis (US), Frank Allgoewer (DE), Jesus Alvarez (MX), Mohd Azlan 
(MY), Philippe Bogaerts (BE), Richard Braatz (US), Yi Cao (UK), Bingzhen 
Chen (CN), Leo Chiang (US), Panogiotis Christofides (US), Jean-Pierre 
Corriou (FR), Ian Craig (ZA), Cesar de Prada (SP), Frank Doyle (US), Tom 
Edgar (US), Sebastian Engell (DE), Bjarne Foss (NO), Martha Grover (US), 
Martin Guay (CA), Chonghun Han (KR), Manabu Kano (JP), Jeff Kantor (US), 
N. Kazantzis (US), Wolfgang Marquardt (DE), Zoltan Nagy (UK), Michel 
Perrier (CA), G.P. Rangaiah (SG), John Richards (US), Yudi Samyudia 
(MY),  Argimiro Secchi (BR), Sigurd Skogestad (NO), Jan Van Impe (BE),
Brent Young (NZ).

National Organizing Committee:

NOC-Chairs (Belgium):

     * Alain Vande Wouwer (FPMs)
     * Ilse Smets (KUL)

NOC members:

     * Denis Dochain (UCL)
     * Filip Logist (KUL)
     * Joseph Winkin (FUNDP)

Mayuresh V. Kothare
R. L. McCann Professor
Department of Chemical Engineering
Lehigh University, D322 Iacocca Hall
111 Research Drive, Bethlehem, PA 18015, U.S.A.
Tel: (610) 758 6654; Fax: (610) 758 5057
e-mail: [log in to unmask]