CAST10 Archives

October 2009


Options: Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
John Congalidis <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
John Congalidis <[log in to unmask]>
Fri, 30 Oct 2009 09:43:36 -0400
text/plain (41 lines)
We are very pleased to announce that Professor Panagiotis Christofides has 
been selected as the CAST10B Programming Chair for 2012.  We had several 
outstanding nominations of very qualified candidates for which we are very 
thankful.  The high qualifications of the candidates made the selection 
process difficult. 

Please join us in congratulating Panagiotis for this important 

Masoud Soroush:  2009 10B Program Chair 
John Congalidis:  2010 10B Program Chair 
Prodromos Daoutidis: 2011 10B Program Chair 

Short Biography 

Panagiotis Christofides received the Diploma in Chemical Engineering degree 
in 1992, from the University of Patras, Greece, the M.S. degrees in 
Electrical Engineering and Mathematics in 1995 and 1996, respectively, and 
the Ph.D. degree in Chemical Engineering in 1996, all from the University 
of Minnesota. Since July 1996 he has been with the University of 
California, Los Angeles, where he is currently a Professor in the 
Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering and the Department of 
Electrical Engineering. His theoretical research interests include 
nonlinear and predictive control, and analysis and control of distributed 
parameter systems, multiscale systems and hybrid systems, with applications 
to chemical processes, advanced materials processing, particulate 
processes, and water systems. His research work has resulted  in a large 
number of articles in leading scientific journals and conference 
proceedings and four books.  He has received several awards for his 
teaching and research work including the Teaching Award from the AIChE 
Student Chapter of UCLA in 1997, a Research Initiation Grant from the ACS-
Petroleum Research Fund in 1998, a CAREER award from the National Science 
Foundation in 1998, the Ted Peterson Student Paper Award and the 
Outstanding Young Researcher Award from the  Computing and Systems 
Technology Division of AIChE in 1999 and 2008, respectively, and a Young 
Investigator Award  from the Office of Naval Research in 2001. He has also 
received twice the O. Hugo Schuck Best Paper Award in 2000  and 2004, and 
the Donald P. Eckman Award in 2004, all from the American Automatic Control 
Council. He is an IEEE Fellow.