CAST10 Archives

May 2010


Options: Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Kate Burness <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Kate Burness <[log in to unmask]>
Tue, 4 May 2010 11:13:34 -0400
text/plain (58 lines)
Process Systems Enterprise (PSE) is pleased to announce the CALL FOR
SUBMISSIONS FOR THE 2010 PSE Model-Based Innovation (MBI) prize.

PSE awards prizes totalling €5000 (EUR) for the best published papers in
which the gPROMS advanced process modelling software is used to generate
research results in a novel area of application or technology. In a change
from previous years, and to acknowledge the quantity and quality of entries,
we are now offering three prizes: a winner's prize of €3000 (EUR) and two
runners-up prizes of €1000 (EUR) each.

The 2009 prize was won by a team from the Instituto Superior Técnico of
Lisbon, Portugal comprising Raquel Durana Moita, Henrique A. Matos, Cristina
Fernandes, Clemente Pedro Nunes and Mário Jorge Pinho for their paper
“Dynamic modelling and simulation of a heated brine spray system”, published
in Computers and Chemical Engineering in February 2009.


PSE is a pioneer in the emerging technology of Model-Based Innovation. Our
gPROMS product is widely used in academic research, particularly in areas of
novel technology, to provide quantification to support research results
through the application of first-principles modelling.

2010 MBI prize

If you used gPROMS in support of research published or to be published
between 1 July 2008 and 30 June 2010, you are encouraged to submit a paper
for the 2010 prize. The research presented in the paper should make
substantial use of gPROMS modelling in order to achieve the results
described. The judges will favour novel applications or application in novel
technology areas. The prize is open to applicants from industry as well as

All you need to do to be eligible for the prize is fill in the submission
form at and
send a copy of the published paper. You do not need to provide the full
paper and publication details until the deadline, 30 June 2010.

Submissions will be judged by the panel of three leading academics in the
field of Process Systems Engineering: Professor Stratos Pistikopoulos
(Imperial College London), Professor Rafiqul Gani (Technical University of
Denmark) and Professor Michael Georgiadis (University of Western Macedonia,
Greece). The prize will be awarded at the 2010 AIChE Annual Meeting in Salt
Lake City.

More details on the prize, including guidelines for submission, can be found
on the PSE website at, along with
the rules, guidelines and terms and conditions.

If you have any questions, please feel to ask the organising committee by
emailing [log in to unmask]

Kind regards,
Kate Burness
PSE Academic