March 2012


Options: Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Gene Ferrick <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Daily eNews for CMNS Students <[log in to unmask]>
Wed, 21 Mar 2012 12:36:38 -0400
text/plain (17 lines)
Collegiate Inventors Competition® Seeking inventive Entries From Students

Program recognizes students for their innovative work and awards cash prizes
The Invent Now Collegiate Inventors Competition is now accepting entries for its 2012 Competition
For the past twenty-two years the Collegiate Inventors Competition has recognized and honored student inventors whose inventions could one day make significant contributions to society. This year over $100,000 in cash prizes will be awarded to the winning undergraduate and graduate students and their advisors.
The deadline for the 2012 Competition is June 15.   Entries will be judged on their originality, their potential impact on society, and the level of student initiative.    Expert judges will select up to 12 finalists who will receive an all-expense paid trip to the final judging round and awards ceremony in Washington, D.C., held in the fall.  National Inventors Hall of Fame Inductees participate in the final round of judging and have included Thomas Fogarty, inventor of the balloon embolectomy catheter; George Smith, 2009 Nobel Prize recipient and inventor of the charge-coupled device; and James West, inventor of the electret microphone. 
Kyle Allison a Boston University student and the 2011 Graduate division first place winner of the Competition says, “The competition was an opportunity for me to test my mettle against some of the most significant innovators and experts I'll ever meet, and to glimpse the future of innovation by getting to know the other finalists”
The Presenting Sponsors of the 2012 Competition are the Abbott Fund, the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation and the United States Patent and Trademark Office.
Entry forms and more information on the program are available at