Maryland's iSchool Congratulates 2012-2013 Scholarship Winners


Eleven outstanding students from the University of Maryland's College of Information Studies, Maryland's iSchool, have been awarded scholarships in the 2012-2013 scholarship competition. All scholarship winners will be recognized during the iSchool's Winter commencement ceremony, to be held on December 20.


The winners of the 2012-2013 scholarship competition are:


Helen A. Tegnell scholarship 

Established in December 1982 by a donation from Col. and Mrs. Russell M. Tegnell in memory of their daughter, Helen A. Tegnell, and to provide financial assistance to worthy students enrolled in the Master of Library Science (MLS) or PhD in Information Studies programs.



Jeff DiScala (PhD)

Allyson Evans (MLS)

Theresa Polk (MLS-Archives)

Rachel Shapiro (MLS)


Library Systems & Services (LSSI) scholarship

Established by Library Systems & Services, LLC, in June 2000.



Katherine Cole (MLS – E-government specialization)

Pamela McClanahan (MLS-Archives, Records and Information Management specialization)

Kathleen Rapp (MLS)

Samantha Thomason (MLS)


Mary Lee Bundy Scholarship


Designated for an MLS student planning on a career in public libraries, this scholarship was established in March 2007 by William G. Wilson to honor the memory of former faculty member Mary Lee Bundy, and her outstanding participation and influence in the Library and Information Services profession.



Allyson Evans (MLS)


Noyes Library Association


Designated for a student with demonstrated financial need and an interest in children’s librarianship, this scholarship was established in April 1988 by the Noyes Library Association of Kensington, Maryland.



Erika Gleason (MLS – School Library specialization)


Frank G. Burke Scholarship

This scholarship, named in honor of emeritus faculty member Frank Burke, is designated for students who have completed their first year in the History and Library Science (HiLS) specialization in the MLS program who have demonstrated interest in archives and record management.



Amanda Hawk (MLS – HiLS)


The iSchool continues to be grateful for the support of its many alumni and friends whose generous donations make these scholarships possible.




Mary Carroll-Mason

Communications Coordinator

College of Information Studies, Maryland's iSchool

University of Maryland

4105J Hornbake Building

College Park, MD 20742

[log in to unmask]

(301) 405-1260

Twitter: @I_UMD