James B. Rawlings receives the Nordic Process Control

The Nordic Process Control Award is awarded for lasting and significant contributions
to the field of process control. The 13th recipient of this award is James B. Rawlings, Professor of chemical engineering at the University of Wisconsin, who received the award for his seminal contributions to the theory of Model Predictive Control (MPC).

The award was presented to Professor Rawlings on August 22, 2013 during the 18th Nordic Process
Control Workshop held at the University of Oulu in Finland. The title of his inspiring award
lecture was:  "Model Predictive Control: Its Interesting Past and
Bright Future".

Previous winners of the Nordic Process Control Award:

1995: Howard H. Rosenbrock
1997: Karl Johan Åstrøm
1998: F. Greg Shinskey
2000: Jens G. Balchen
2001: Charles R. Cutler
2003: Roger W. Sargent
2004: Ernst Dieter Gilles
2006: Manfred Morari
2007: Jacques Richalet
2009: John MacGregor
2010: Graham C. Goodwin
2012: Lorenz T. Biegler

For more information on the working group and a copy of the slides from the award lecture, see: