James B. Rawlings receives the Nordic Process Control



The Nordic Process Control Award is awarded for lasting and significant contributions

to the field of process control. The 13th recipient of this award is James B. Rawlings, Professor of chemical engineering at the University of Wisconsin, who received the award for his seminal contributions to the theory of Model Predictive Control (MPC).


The award was presented to Professor Rawlings on August 22, 2013 during the 18th Nordic Process

Control Workshop held at the University of Oulu in Finland. The title of his inspiring award

lecture was:  "Model Predictive Control: Its Interesting Past and

Bright Future".



Previous winners of the Nordic Process Control Award:


1995: Howard H. Rosenbrock 

1997: Karl Johan Åstrøm 

1998: F. Greg Shinskey 

2000: Jens G. Balchen 

2001: Charles R. Cutler 

2003: Roger W. Sargent

2004: Ernst Dieter Gilles 

2006: Manfred Morari 

2007: Jacques Richalet 

2009: John MacGregor

2010: Graham C. Goodwin

2012: Lorenz T. Biegler


For more information on the working group and a copy of the slides from the award lecture, see: