2nd International Conference on Safety


3rd Symposium on Process Safety


Organized by Safety Centre, Indian Institute of Technology Gandhinagar

Ahmedabad, India

2 - 6 Dec 2014


Abstracts due 1 June 2014


The International conference on Safety 2014 will be an interdisciplinary conference that brings together researchers, educators, safety officials, engineers, safety advocates, policy makers and consultants to explore solutions to pressing safety challenges in India and around the world.


The conference will explore all aspects of  safety including:

·         design and operations

·         regulations and standards

·         planning and economics

·         risk management

·         behavioral safety

across various sectors such as:

·         Buildings & Structures

·         Consumer

·         Fire

·         Industrial

·         Transportation

·         Unorganized / informal sectors


To commemorate the 30th anniversary of the Bhopal Gas disaster, there will be a special focus on Process Safety. The Symposium on Process Safety organized alongside ICS2014 will bring together thought-leaders in Process Safety and seek to answer the question “Have we really made progress since Bhopal?” More details at http://safety.iitgn.ac.in/ics2014/


Submission instructions

We welcome original contributions in all aspects of Safety. Abstracts can be submitted online at http://safety.iitgn.ac.in/ics2014/


Key Dates

Abstract submission,                      Jun 1, 2014

Notification of Acceptance,         Aug 1, 2014

Final Manuscript submission,      Oct 1, 2014

Registration Deadline,                   Oct 15, 2014

Final Program,                                   Nov 15, 2014

ICS 2014 and SPS 2014,                   Dec 2-6, 2014


Program Committee

Atsushi Aoyama (Ritsumei U, Japan)

Paul Amyotte (Dalhousie U, Canada)

Rafael Batres (Toyohashi U, Japan)

David Edwards (Granherne, UK)

Jai Gupta (IIT Kanpur, India)

Marrku Hurme (Aalto U, Finland)

Mimi Hassim (U Teknologi, Malaysia)

Andrzej Kraslawski (Lappeenranta U, Finland)

Faisal Khan (Memorial U, Canada)

Lakshmi Kantam (IICT, India)

Sam  Mannan (Texas A&M, USA)

Il Moon (Yonsei U, S Korea)

Raghu Rengasamy (IIT Madras, India)

Daniel Crowl (Michigan Tech)

Dongil Shin (Myongji U, S Korea)

Sandip Roy (IIT Bombay)

Shaik Salim (ICES, Singapore)

KN Sheeba  (NIT Trichy, India)

M Surianarayanan (CLRI, India)

Venkat Venkatasubramanian  (Colombia U, USA)

Jinsong Zhao (Tsinghua U, China)



For further information, please contact: [log in to unmask]


Organized by Safety Centre @ Indian Institute of Technology Gandhinagar