i would like to post the text below to the CAST10 email list.


Best regards,

Sigurd Skogestad



Sigurd Skogestad, Professor                                                         Phone:  +47-73594154

Department of Chemical Engineering                                       Home:   +47-73902625

Norwegian Univ. of Science and Technology (NTNU)        Mobile: +47-91371669

N-7491 Trondheim, Norway                                                         email: [log in to unmask]

Office: Sem Saelands vei 6, K4-211                                            http://www.nt.ntnu.no/users/skoge





Rudolf Kalman receives the Nordic Process Control Award


The Nordic Process Control Award is awarded for lasting and significant contributions to

the field of process control.  The 14th recipient of this award is Professor Rudolf Kalman

who received the award for his seminal contributions to all aspects of control systems theory.


The award winner was announced on January 15, 2015 during the 19th Nordic Process

Control Workshop held at the ship between Trondheim and Bodo in Norway.

Unfortunately, Professor Kalman could not be present in person, but a very nice video interview

with the award winner was shown.


The interview is available on youtube:



Previous winners of the Nordic Process Control Award:


1995: Howard H. Rosenbrock 

1997: Karl Johan Åstrøm 

1998: F. Greg Shinskey 

2000: Jens G. Balchen 

2001: Charles R. Cutler 

2003: Roger W. Sargent

2004: Ernst Dieter Gilles 

2006: Manfred Morari 

2007: Jacques Richalet 

2009: John MacGregor

2010: Graham C. Goodwin

2012: Lorenz T. Biegler

2013: James B. Rawlings


For more information on the Nordic Process Control Working group see here: