The Nordic Process Control Award is awarded for lasting and significant contributions to the field of process control.

The 17th recipient of this award is Professor Nina Thornhill from Imperial College who received the
award in recognition of her lasting and significant contributions to the field of process control and automation.

In particular NCPG board recognizes Prof. Thornhill's novel contributions in research to developing innovative approaches,
tools and methods for process monitoring, fault diagnosis and detection and optimal operation of large scale production facilities.
Moreover, Prof Thornhill has made important contributions as a coordinator in several European Marie Sklodowska-Curie projects,
which brings together industrial and academic partnership to train early stage researchers and professionals in the field of process automation and control.

The award was presented to Professor Thornhill on August 22, 2019 during the 22th Nordic Process Control Workshop held in Lyngby in Denmark.
In connection with the award ceremony, Prof. Nina Thornhill delivered an inspiring award lecture with entitled "Discovery through process data analytics".

The slides of the award lecture slides and more information about the Nordic Working Group on Process Control can be found at:

Previous winners of the Nordic Process Control Award:

1995: Howard H. Rosenbrock
1997: Karl Johan Åstrøm
1998: F. Greg Shinskey
2000: Jens G. Balchen
2001: Charles R. Cutler
2003: Roger W. Sargent
2004: Ernst Dieter Gilles
2006: Manfred Morari
2007: Jacques Richalet
2009: John MacGregor
2010: Graham C. Goodwin
2012: Lorenz T. Biegler
2013: James B. Rawlings
2015: Rudolf Kalman
2017: Wolfgang Marquardt
2018: Dale Seborg
2019: Nina Thornhill